Hurdle Lead Leg

Moderator: George Payan

runner4life

Hurdle Lead Leg

Post by runner4life »

I am a freshman in high school and a hurdler. I love doing the hurdles and try my best. I am about 5'2".

My biggest problem is with my feet. When I go over the hurdle, instead of the lead leg and then the trail leg, both feet come over at the same time. I end up landing on both feet at the same time when I land on the other side. How can I fix this problem so I can compete in races without losing time?
George Payan

Hurdle Lead Leg

Post by George Payan »

The solution is with the lead leg. Here is some information and drills:

A discussion of the lead leg cannot start at the first hurdle. It has to begin in the starting blocks. For an 8th step approach in the high hurdles, which is the normal approach for the majority of men and women hurdlers including elite and world class, the lead leg will be the leg in the back block.

The lead leg attack begins with a high knee action and with the foot "dorsi flexed" (toe back toward the knee). This action comes from the hip flexor (quads and groin). When driving the knee into the hurdle, the foot should always stay behind the knee. A locked knee over the hurdle occurs when leading with the foot, which causes a jumping effect and loss of speed. If the knee is held in a locked position during hurdle clearance, a delayed landing will result.

Some hurdlers, depending on their size and speed will take more than eight steps to the 1st hurdle or more than three between the hurdles. Some will take off too close to the hurdle with their normal stride. This can cause problems in the future because they will do everything possible to get their lead leg over the hurdle (i.e., drive their leg to the outside of the hurdle or bend their knee to the inside). This habit stays with them once they get stronger and faster, and start taking 8 steps to the 1st hurdle or 3 steps between hurdles.