Welcome To Coaches Education

In God We Trust

Email

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Training for Jumping
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:02 am 

I am a sophomore in high school and I had my first outdoor meet last night for the season. I am a jumper and compete in the High Jump, Long Jump and Triple Jump. I finished 1st in the long jump and 2nd in the high jump in the Quad, but I wasn't happy with my performance. I'm not feeling comfortable with the training that I am getting to prepare me to succeed. Our meets are scheduled for Tuesdays and Thursdays each week and I was wondering if you could provide me with a structured work out to help me prepare? I also play AAU basketball, with one practice a week and tournaments on the weekends, if that matters.

Post subject: Jumps training
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:54 am 

What type of training are you currently doing now, and what did you feel was "off" during your first meet? This will help give some insight into a structured work.

Coach Ciolek

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 4:51 pm 

I start out each practice jogging about a mile and then I do power jumps for the high jump and pop-ups for the long jump and triple jump. The day before a meet I usually don't do much jumping just some jogging. I've gained about 15 pounds since last year and it seems like my second phase of the triple jump is a lot harder for me. My legs don't feel like they can handle all the jumping this year. I was really tight at the meet, but it was very cold, about 40 degrees. I'm about 6 feet tall and weigh about 180 pounds.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:07 pm 

Here is some things to work on.